Tasmanian Transport Association recognises industry achievers



Tasmanian Transport Association Chairman John de Bruyn today congratulated those honoured for their outstanding achievements at the 2017 TTA Gala Dinner and Awards Night, held Saturday evening at Wrest Point.

“We congratulate those businesses and individuals who received awards, and the finalists in each award category.”

Ferdie Kroon of De Bruyn’s Transport received the NTI Award for Most Valued Contribution to the Transport Industry.  “This is recognition of the impact Ferdie has had, over more than a decade in the transport and logistics sector; particularly in the areas of workplace safety and driver health and wellbeing” said Shane Fairhall of NTI on presenting the award.  Mr Kroon is also the Chairman of TruckSafe Australia.  Garth Hutton, of Wynyard Transport, was also a finalist in this award.

Paul Stevens, of Brianna Tilt Trays was awarded the 2017 NTI Professional Driver of the Year Award.  “With more than 12 years of incident free driving and strong references from customers, Paul demonstrated the safe practices and customer standards we value in Professional Drivers” Mr Fairhall said.  Finalists for this award, from a record number of nominations this year, were Aaron Mus, of SRT Logistics, and Gary Burr, of Toll Shipping.

SRT Logistics was recognised for its innovative program designed to increase the participation of women in driving roles within their business.  SRT Logistics’ “Women behind the Wheel” Program received the 2017 TasRail Award for Workforce Diversity.  On accepting the award, SRT Managing Director Jim Miller, acknowledged the positive contribution that the company’s female drivers are making to the business.  AJL Training was a finalist in this category.

The 2017 Arthur J Gallagher Transport Industry Young Achiever Award was taken out by Dylan Lovell, 20 years of age, who is completing an apprenticeship with De Bruyn Transport. 

Joey Allison of AJL Heavy Equipment was awarded the BPW Transpec 2017 Transport Industry Apprentice of the Year

During his address to guests, Minister for Infrastructure, Hon Rene Hidding, paid tribute to the commitment and excellent work of Mr Robin Phillips, who, in August, retired from the role TTA Executive Director after 11 years, and welcomed the incoming ED Michelle Harwood.

200 guests attended the Gala Dinner and Awards night, including the Minister for Infrastructure Hon Rene Hidding, the CEO of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator Mr Sal Petroccitto, senior representatives of the Tasmanian Department of State Growth, Founding Chairman of the TTA Mr Bob Thorpe OAM, Mr Justin Fleming of TruckSafe and guests from all sectors of the Tasmanian Transport Industry.

 “We acknowledge and thank our valued industry partners who contribute to this event, particularly our platinum sponsors: NTI and the TWU Superannuation Fund; our gold sponsors: FRM Hino, Barker Trailers, BPW Transpec and Caltas / Bonney Group.  Our silver sponsors Arthur J Gallagher and AJL, and bronze sponsors TT-Line and Dowling McCarthy Tyres.  Without their support such an important event, celebrating the success and professionalism of the Tasmanian Transport Industry would not be possible” said Mr de Bruyn.

To comment please login above